USA Calendar

From national holidays to local celebrations, the U.S. has loads of events.

U.S. Federal Holidays

The U.S. observes 12 federal holidays. While government offices, and usually schools, are closed on federal holidays, there are local exceptions. Businesses may or may not be closed on federal holidays.

There are five federal holidays that fall on fixed days: New Year’s Day, Juneteenth, Independence Day, Veterans Day, and Christmas Day. Note that when these fixed holidays fall on a weekend day, then the Friday or the Monday closest to the day will be set as a holiday. For example, if New Year’s Day falls on a Sunday, then the following Monday will be a holiday.

Most major museums and tourist attractions will be open on federal holidays, except for Christmas. But check online before planning any sightseeing on the following days:

  • January 1 – New Year’s Day
  • Third Monday of January – Martin Luther King, Jr’s Birthday (aka Martin Luther King, Jr. Day or MLK Day)
  • Third Monday of February – George Washington’s Birthday (aka Presidents’ Day)
  • Last Monday in May – Memorial Day
  • June 19 – Juneteenth
  • July 4 – Independence Day
  • First Monday of September – Labor Day
  • Second Monday of October – Columbus Day (aka Indigenous Peoples’ Day, in some areas)
  • November 11 – Veterans Day
  • Fourth Thursday in November – Thanksgiving Day
  • December 25 – Christmas Day